Most Successful Rally Drivers

Sébastien Loeb

Sébastien Loeb is the most successful driver in World Rally Championship history. Born in 1974 in France he entered the rally arena in 1998 with Citroen Saxo. Next year he already won the French Trophy title. In 2002 he became one one of the drivers of Citroën Total World Rally Team taking his first victory at Rallye Deutschland. 2003 was the first year that Loeb participated in all WRC events. He finished the season with three wins. In 2004 and later we saw a dominance never seen before in World Rally Championship. Loeb came, saw and won all championship titles from 2004 to 2012.

Colin McRae

Colin McRae is the most successful and popular British rally driver of all times. Born 1968 this Scottish driver entered the rally scene in 1986 driving Talbot Sunbeam in Scottish Rally Championship. In 1987 he became WRC driver. His first race was at Swedish Rally with Nova. As years passed he became better and better. In 1995 he took his first and only World Rally Championship title driving Subaru Impreza 555. He finished his career with 25 wins and 42 podiums.

Tommi Mäkinen

With 24 rally victories, 45 podiums and 4 championship titles Tommi Mäkinen is the most successful Finnish rally driver. All four WRC titles he won driving Mitsubishi Lancer.

Juha Kankkunen

Another great driver from Finland. Winning 23 rally races and 4 championship titles with Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2, Lancia Delta and Toyota Celica.

Walter Röhrl

Two time WRC champion Walter Röhrl won 14 races and was on podium 31 times. He won WRC title in 1980 and 1982 with Fiat and Audi.

Miki Biasion

17 wins and two World Rally Championship titles, both times with Lancia Delta.

Carlos Sainz

Spanish rally driver Carlos Sainz won 26 rally races and was twice the champion. In 1990 and 1992 he won the WRC titles with Toyota Celica.

Marcus Grönholm

With 30 wins and 60 podiums Marcus is another successful driver from Finland. Although he won the most rally races of all Finnish drivers he only took two championship titles. He won in 2000 and 2002, both times with Peugeot 206 WRC.